ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Huambo


Essentially focused on mineral extraction area, agriculture and livestock, which represents 76 percent of economic activity in the province.


The Province

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

On 8th August 1912, following an administrative order issued under the decree No. 1040, the then governor-general of Angola, the Portuguese General José Mendes Ribeiro Norton de Matos, inaugurated the city of Huambo, the capital of the province of Huambo, eager to make it the capital of the colony of Angola.

The name of the metropolis is a tribute to the mythical hunter Wambo Calunga, from Kwanza Sul province who settled in the town of Muangunja in the municipality of Caála, about 28 kilometres of where it is now the headquarters of the province.

Contrary to claims by many historical sources, it was not the hunter who founded the city of Huambo, but General Norton de Matos.
Soon after its foundation, the city of Huambo gave a big boost to the social and economic life, particularly in the field of trade, industry, agriculture, livestock and construction of social infrastructure, whose positive and significant effects for the development of the province became a national reference in several areas of life.

In 1928, a period in which Vicente Ferreira was governor-general of Angola, Huambo city, according to "Organic Charter of Angola", title I, was proposed to be the capital of the country, and was given the name of Nova Lisboa, to honour the city of Lisbon, capital of Portugal. The name prevailed by the province did not become the capita for several reasons.

The history goes that the layout of the Huambo city was designed one year after the inauguration, in 1913.

The policy established by Norton de Matos as governor-general of Angola, advocated the development of the interior envisaging the

creation of Huambo city.

This ruler, moreover, both created the city and sought to develop it to the fullest, with several subsequent measures, such as the granting of land to commercial enterprises, the installation of a town hall, schools, a delegation of farms and the creation of an agricultural experimental livestock and a cattle observation and treatment post.

These were then the first important steps toward the development of what, in a few years, would become the second city of Angola, a training centre for the military and civilian, so important in a city possessing the country’s second industrial park.

Known as the land of the sovereigns Ekuikui, Katiavala and Mutu Ya Kevela, Huambo province has been the scene of major armed struggle against the colonial oppression which ended with independence of the country on 11 November 1975.

Founded on 8th August 1912, the city gained the name of Nova ew Lisboa in 1928, due to its climate, geographical position favorable for agriculture, as well as a good river system. Huambo province seemed to provide favorable conditions for urban development.

Therefore, it was then identified as as a potential capital of the colony. However, it was left out in favour of Luanda, for its seaside location. The province of Huambo is a landmark of colonial architecture with traditional buildings and wide avenues.
The population is mostly of Ovimbundu origins the main local language is Umbundu. The main activity of the population is agriculture. It was once known as the breadbasket of Angola, with corn as the main crop.



Situated in the country's central region, with an area of 34,270 square kilometres, the province has its capital named after the province itself.


Distance in relation to other cities


Administrative Division

The province is comprised of 11 municipallties that include:

Municipality Commune
Huambo Huambo (Headquartes)
Bailundo Bailundo (Headquartes)
Caála Caála (Headquartes)
Ecunha Ecunha (Headquartes)
Londuimbale Londuimbali (Headquartes)
Alto Hama
Katchiungo Catchiungo (Headquartes)
Tchinjenje Quingenge (Headquartes)
Mungo Mungo (Headquartes)
Ucuma Ucuma (Headquartes)
Mundundo (Eleva)
Tchicala-Tcholohanga Tchicala (Headquartes)
Samboto (Hungulo)
Longonjo Longonjo (Headquartes)
Iava Catabola



The climate is tropical of altitude, with an annual average temperature of  19ºc, a dry and cold season and a rainy period, during which the heat is hardly felt due to the constant rains. The annual average temperature is  19º C.


Ethinic Groups

The population is mostly of Ovimbundo origin and the language is Umbundo.



The Huambo province population is estimated at two million inhabitants.


Natural Resources

The subsoil of Huambo holds such mineral reserves as  Manganese, iron ore, phosphate, gold, copper and others.